Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-01-28 - 9:17 p.m.

Social awkwardness! Last night I went to see Jonathan Byrd, and Karen Mal. Jonathan was great, of course, and Karen Mal, whom I'd never heard before, was great too. She's a terrific songwriter with a beautiful voice.

At the show, the promoter was selling a calendar, Naked Folk. It's got photos of naked folk artists for each month, tastefully done, black and white, very nice. It's a fundraiser to help pay for health insurance for folk musicians. Well, Karen Mal is in it, in fact, you could say she's Miss January, and she's on the cover. So I went to buy this calendar, and she happened to be the one who took my money. I felt a little awkward, since I'm holding a nekkid picture of her in my hand, so I said, "You're very cute," but I neglected to say I enjoyed her music, I just wandered off. After the concert, I happened to see her again, and I said, thinking of her songs and her lovely voice, "just beautiful." She looked at me oddly and much too late I realized that she might have thought I was still talking about her calendar pose. Oof. Well, she is lovely, and it's a cute photo, but all that aside, she's good. There are a couple of sample songs on her website, go listen. And check out the calendar - it's cool.

I spent a delightful weekend with my aunt and her dog. We walked the beasts, went shopping, ate, and generally had a grand time. Poor Dolly's about worn out between the playing and the walking. My foot is getting better, and as long as I stretch a lot, I'm able to walk a pretty good distance. No miles-long hikes or anything, but not too bad.

I've pulled out the work I'd done on the sock and started over. I'm back to the bamboo needles, and they're working pretty well. I'm getting the hang of knitting in the round and keeping the stitches pretty even. It will be interesting to see how many times I have to rip out the heel before I get it right. I usually have to make a couple of attempts at a complicated thing before I get it right.

A good weekend, in all, but now I'm ready for sleep!

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!